“Sharing Catholic faith and values with all the world.”

The Seven Sacraments of the Church

A sacrament is an outward sign instituted by Christ to give grace.

The seven sacraments of the Catholic Church are Baptism, Confirmation, Holy Eucharist,

Penance (Reconciliation / Confession), Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders, and Matrimony.

“The sacraments are efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us. The visible rites by which the sacraments are celebrated signify and make present the graces proper to each sacrament. They bear fruit in those who receive them with the required dispositions.” CCC 1131

Baptism: The first of the seven sacraments, and the "door" which gives access to the other sacraments. Baptism is the first and chief sacrament of forgiveness of sins because it unites us with Christ, who died for our sins and rose for our justification. The believer receives the remission of original and personal sin, begins a new life in Christ and the Holy Spirit, and is incorporated into the Church, the Body of Christ. Catechism of the Catholic Church

The rite of Baptism consists of immersing the candidate in water, or pouring water on the head, while pronouncing the invocation of the Most Holy Trinity: the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.

“Now it came to pass when all the people had been baptized, Jesus also having been baptized and being in prayer, that the heaven was opened, and the Holy Spirit descended upon Him in bodily form as a dove, and a voice came from heaven, “Thou art my beloved Son, in thee I am well pleased.” Luke 3:21-22

Confirmation: One of the ensemble of the Sacraments of Initiation into the Church, together with Baptism and the Eucharist. Confirmation completes the grace of Baptism by a special outpouring of the gifts of the Holy Spirit, which seal or "confirm" the baptized in union with Christ and equip them for active participation in the worship and apostolic life of the Church. CCC 1285

Holy Eucharist: This sacrament completes Christian Initiation. The ritual, sacramental action of thanksgiving to God which constitutes the principal Christian liturgical celebration of and communion in the pascal mystery of Christ. The celebration of the Eucharist is at the heart of the Church's life.

Penance: The liturgical celebration of God's forgiveness of the sins of the penitent, who is thus reconciled with God and with the Church. The acts of the penitent-contrition, the confession of sins, and the satisfaction or reparation-together with the prayer of absolution by the priest, constitute the essential elements of Penance.

Anointing of the Sick: Administered by a priest to a baptized person who begins to be in danger of death because of illness or old age, through prayer and the anointing of the body with the oil of the sick. The proper effects of the sacrament include a special grace of healing and comfort to the Christian who is suffering the infirmities of serious illness or old age, and the forgiving of the person's sins.

Holy Orders: The Sacrament of Apostolic Ministry by which the mission entrusted by Christ to his Apostles continues to be exercised in the Church through the laying on of hands. This sacrament has three distinct degrees or "orders": deacon, priest, and bishop. All three confer a permanent, sacramental character. CCC 1536

Matrimony: A covenant or partnership of life between a man and woman, which is ordered to the well-being of the spouses and to the procreation and upbringing of children. When validly contracted between two baptized people, marriage is a sacrament. CCC 1601

CATHOLIC FAITH PRODUCTIONS specializes in producing DVDs and other media

that promote the Catholic Faith in fidelity to the Church’s Magisterium.

Please visit our affiliate Ignatius Press

for other great Catholic products

that can supplement the Saint Everyone DVD series.

The Saint Everyone DVD series

Only $8.95 per DVD when you order

the whole series…

get all 12 DVDs for only $107.40

(includes free shipping)

Add to Cart